Skip to main content

2022 Lincoln Prize

By March 16, 2022No Comments
Ends of War

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History has awarded the 2022 Lincoln Prize to Carolyn Janney, for the book Ends of War. Carolyn Janney joined us on A House Divided to talk about the book in September, 2021. You can watch the episode on The House Divided page. 

We have a few first editions available. These include signed bookplates. Order your copy today. 

The Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize is awarded annually for the finest scholarly work in English on Abraham Lincoln, the American Civil War soldier, or a subject relating to their era.

The $50,000 prize was co-founded and endowed by businessmen and philanthropists Lewis Lehrman and the late Richard Gilder, principals of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History in New York and co-creators of the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the largest private archives of documents and artifacts in the nation.

Gilder and Lehrman established the Lincoln Prize in 1990, together with Prof. Gabor Boritt, Director Emeritus of the Civil War Institute at Gettysburg College. Since founding the Prize in 1990, Gilder and Lehrman have bestowed more than $1 million on the annual winners, including special prizes.